My daily readings 09/25/2013

    • I was once on the other end of this — witnessing a startup that failed “the wrong way”. The unethical way.

      I decided to use a startup to raise some money for a non-profit. Their business model was to help fund events / orga

    • “Oh no, I think they are in a very bad place and may not have any money. I have stopped using the service.” I e-mailed the founder again. He replied that my money was gone, but that he had committed himself to pay it back.
    • They are unaware the money never made it to the non-profit. The check I was trying to receive was meant to just be a direct donation to this cause. The founder’s mismanagement actually led to $20-$40 being “stolen” from about 20 people. In a way, I acted as a middleman, by encouraging people to donate via this platform. And now, I feel very responsible to get this money back. Do I pursue legal action? I’ve debated it.
    • If you use Google Chrome as your go-to web browser, you may have seen a little icon for the ‘Store’ (like what you see on the right) when you attempt to open a new tab. Never clicked that? Only clicked that once or twice but never took the plunge into the wild world of the Chrome Web Store? In an effort to help you truly surface the best Google Chrome extensions for teachers of all stripes, I thought it might be useful to showcase some of my favorites.
      • What teacher’s problem?  1) Test students2) Monitor students and make sure they review the course and know what’s they learn.
    • I had used the bookmark importer on Firefox many times in the past but it just wouldn’t work this time. It was also a big confusing. Instead, I imported everything over to Chrome and then synced it all to the Google cloud. That amorphous and terrifying thing that runs the web. Everything just worked after that. I haven’t gone back to Firefox since.
      • Help teachers and other students df  This is another sticky note 
    • If you have a favorite, let me and the other folks kindly reading this article down in the comments or by mentioning @edudemic on Twitter – I’ll keep an eye out! Note: these are in no particular order.
      • dfdf 
    • It takes less than 2 minutes to get going
      • Savin
    • he charge that the company isn’t doing enough or that Ask.fm is inherently bad is one that Ask.fm’s CEO and founder Ilja Terebin refutes, of course, though he isn’t insensitive to the issues being raised. Despite being told by another journalist that the company is on somewhat of a PR lock-down, I was able to speak to Terebin earlier today and got the sense that he was still coming to terms with the turn of events. Even though Ask.fm knew it was on the path to growth, claiming to have overtaken Formspring this time last year, that the site has continued to grow at such a clip has clearly caught its founders off-guard. Not necessarily in terms of pure traffic — that’s what the cloud is for — but how to scale the startup’s community and customer support, and in turn its relationship with the media.
      • bla bla 
    • Finally, Terebin says that although he doesn’t feel that Ask.fm has done anything wrong and he’s not sure what he could do differently in hindsight, “we understand we have to be responsible for our users”. Actions, of course, speak louder than words, although I’m inclined to take the Ask.fm CEO at his word. It’s also a message that, until now, appears to have got somewhat lost in translation. To that end, Terebin says that it was only two months ago that Ask.fm hired an outside PR firm. The lesson here is that there’s a lot more to scaling than code alone.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

