My daily readings 07/25/2013

    • It seems like I can’t spend five minutes on reddit these days without someone playing the JS-is-Scheme is card. I see everything from the innocuous, “JavaScript has a lot in common with Scheme”, all the way up to, “JavaScript is basically Scheme.” This is basically crazy. Or, at least it has a lot in common with crazy.

        

      Before I convince you that it’s crazy, let’s step b

    • 指定管辖,今日已由山东省济南市人民检察院向济南市中级人民法院提起公诉
    • 检察机关在审查起诉阶段依法告知了被告人薄熙来享有的诉讼权利,并讯问了被
    • 听取了其委托的辩护人的意见。济南市人民
    • 非法收受他人财物,数额特别巨大;贪污公款,数额巨大;滥用职权,致使国家和人民利益遭受重大损失,情节特别严重,依法应当以受贿罪、贪污罪、滥用职权罪追究刑事责任,并予以数罪并罚
    • I think the origins of the “JavaScript is Scheme!” meme have more to do with the fact that you can pretty trivially re-implement all of the code from the Little Schemer (including the applicative order y-combinator) in JavaScript, than any of the reasons mentioned here. JavaScript still, imho, has nicer closures and lambdas than most mainstream programming languages.
  • tags: Emacs

    • It’s worth noting that a lot of the apps that Facebook “killed off” (iLike, Social Reader, RockYou, Zynga games, etc.) really did detract from the user experience. Let’s take Washington Post’s Social Reader as a case study. You had to authorize the app in order to read the articles (that were often loaded with linkbait-y titles), and any time you did read (or click on) an article it automatically shared it with all of your Facebook friends. Zynga is another example; I’m sure I wasn’t the only one constantly bombarded with invites to Whateverville. I had to unfriend some people to avoid them, because there was no way to turn them off.
    • I think that my favorite piece of writing by Cory Doctorow is his essay “All Complex Ecosystems Have Parasites” and I thought of it early into this piece. Any ecosystem of any interest will always have parasites within it. When you attempt to indiscriminately remove them all you almost invariably end up with something sterile and far less interesting. When I discover a weed on my lawn, my reaction isn’t to burn the lawn and pave it. Sure I wouldn’t have any weeds that way, but a concrete sheet is far less interesting (to me at least) than a lush lawn. So I suck it up and deal with the weeds on a case by case basis, because that is the only way to do it without torching the rest of the ecosystem that I want to maintain. It seems like Facebook, when faced with the weed problem, went the concrete sheet route, torching both the parasites and the rest of the actors that actually made up the ecosystem. Sure, it means that there are no more weeds, but it means that there also aren’t any of the other organisms that create value in your ecosystem.
    • So, my takeaway given only my shallow knowledge of what happened based on this article is that other organizations attempting to establish an ecosystem (and that is really what they want when they say platform) and reap the numerous benefits that an ecosystem can produce should spend some time thinking about how ecosystems become established and thrive in the real world before charging clumsily forward with their own naive attempts.

    • 2) Expect that some feature of the API breaks every 2 weeks, especially login on their Android SDKs cannot be relied upon.(reliable for me is the industry standard for server uptime usually advertised – 99.99999%) If your application just uses few parts of the API it probably once every 1 or 2 months.

      3) Substract 0.5 to 1.0 points from the rating of your app in the Android or iOS app store, depending on how heavy you rely on Facebook, because of the instability of their APIs.

      4) Expect to spend at least a day per month writing bug reports. (Or just give up like I did)

      5) You will do lots of reverse engineering to work around the bugs which they are constantly creating at a mind blowing rate.

      My final conclusion after almost 2 years of working with their APIs (as a good actor) for my app (link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.flipster&h…) is that I will never ever ever build again something that relies that much on Facebook.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

