My daily readings 03/21/2013

    • Precisely.

      I’d thought of building something like this for my own use last autumn, and ironically actually started building it over the weekend[1] (GF away for the week).

      When I was young and naive, reading that one of the big boys was getting into the space where I’d just started a project would have scared me off and I’d have abandoned it. In recent, more clued-up years I’d have thought “ah, market validation!” and ramped up my development effort. Now, in the light of the Reader abandonment, it’s more like a feeling of joy that Google will educate the world about how great an idea this is, and then abandon it just about when I have something that other people might actually want to use.

      [1] http://blog.memostream.com/2013/03/19/hello-world/

    • Putting aside snarky sentiments about its inevitable shutdown: pretty neat, although as others have stated, it seems a little too minimal. I imagine if your life is already on Drive that this could be pretty useful. I especially like the Android lock screen widget that lets you add stuff directly from the phone (mentioned on their blog)

      Regardless of the product you use, searchable cloud-synced notes that you can quickly access are a life changer, even if they’re just text files. It’s like direct memory augmentation; I can’t imagine why anyone wouldn’t want to have it. “The weakest ink is better than the strongest memory” and all that. The trick is to make a workflow for yourself that allows for writing stuff down now and finding/organizing it later. I find OneNote + SkyDrive works pretty well – it ties you to the proprietary OneNote format, but the features you get from it are powerful, and as long as you have the client software and a place to put the files (preferably on the web), no one can “shut the service down”. Perhaps I’ll give this one a try though.

    • I read the grandparent comment as more of a “We don’t trust you, therefore we won’t invest in your new service, therefore you won’t get the use out of it you expect, therefore you will kill it, and the prophecy is fulfilled.”

      Google is doing something which I didn’t think was possible, which is to teach a vast marketplace that “free” isn’t real.

      I’ve had the conversation with lots of people about how free services are unsustainable because they incur real costs, and like a ponzi scheme you run out of suckers eventually who are willing to put in new money. And yet if you’re collecting new users then there is some “value” there. But like shale oil of old, if you can’t convert the ‘value’ into cash to fund operations, its not worth anything.

      Google is in a unique position to train the billions of Internet users that you want something, you pay for it, if you aren’t paying for it, it goes away at any time. So when the person running the ‘free’ service says ‘time to pay up’ you don’t complain, you either pay or do without.

      That was an impossible conversation to have during Web 1.0, it’s being forced on Web 2.0, and I expect will be the foundation of Web 3.0.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

One Response to “My daily readings 03/21/2013”

  1. giles Says:

    Hey there — don’t know if you read the comments here (this looks like a blog for noting down your own wanderings through the Internet, a kind of Memex of your own) but just in case you do, I’m the author of the first comment you quote and I blogged a few more thoughts about Google Keep here: http://blog.memostream.com/2013/03/22/google-keep/

Leave a Reply

