My daily readings 10/22/2011

  • tags: stevejobs

    • “I described the blocking and tackling he would have to do to keep the company from getting flabby or being larded with B players,” Jobs said of the meeting with Page this year in his living room. “Figure out what Google wants to be when it grows up. It’s now all over the map. What are the five products you want to focus on? Get rid of the rest, because they’re dragging you down. They’re turning you into Microsoft.”
    • “I will continue to do that with people like Mark Zuckerberg, too,” Jobs said. “That’s how I’m going to spend part of the time I have left. I can help the next generation remember the lineage of great companies here and how to continue the tradition. The Valley has been very supportive of me. I should do my best to repay.”
    • “My intuition told me that joining Apple would be a once- in-a-lifetime opportunity to work for a creative genius,” Cook said. “Engineers are taught to make a decision analytically, but there are times when relying on gut or intuition is most indispensable.”
  • tags: wolfymed

    我从小一拉肚子我爸立刻给我塞这个。。RT @sanwolfy: #wolfymed 不知普通推友有多少人知道18岁以下患者不能用“沙星”类抗生素。我朝抗生素滥用严重,在药店可以随便买到,所以有必要提醒大家,未成年人拉肚子可不能根据大人的经验吃氟哌酸,影响骨骼发育,导致骨骺过早闭合

  • tags: presentation

    • Yeah, the trick to getting some people to go along with something is getting them to think it’s their idea.

      Leaving parts out so they can provide input and fill in the gaps is a way of guiding them down the path — you’re essentially manufacturing buy-in.

  • tags: Culture

    • But they also listened, which is super cool. I probably shouldn’t talk much about it, but they’re already figuring out how to deal with some of the issues I raised. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, though. When I claimed in my internal post that “Google does everything right”, I meant it. When they’re faced with any problem at all, whether it’s technical or organizational or cultural, they set out to solve it in a first-class way.
    • So. Without retracting anything I said, I’d like to paint a more balanced picture for you. I’m going to try to paint that picture via some true stories that I’ve never shared publicly. Nothing secondhand: it’s all stuff I witnessed myself there. I hope you’ll find the stories interesting, because it’s one hell of an interesting place.
    • I mean, imagine what it would be like to start off as an incredibly smart person, arguably a first-class genius, and then somehow wind up in a situation where you have a general’s view of the industry battlefield for ten years. Not only do you have more time than anyone else, and access to more information than anyone else, you also have this long-term eagle-eye perspective that only a handful of people in the world enjoy.
    • Okay, I love your honesty and sincerity, but seriously, like Sergey said in the Web 2.0 Summit video, if you want people to read your stories, you need to cut them down to a screen or two at most. Although I’d love to read about Amazon, it’s a bit late at night so I will wait until another time to tackle the epic.🙂 “Back in the mid-1800s …”😀 I see I am not the only one who find that hilarious. LOL
    • Google rocks! Google Rocks because you & +Sergey Brin spoke publicly about this in the interview on Web 2.0, and because +Steve Yegge is still at Google, and because Google is seriously examining & incorporating stuff he suggested.

      That is a strong sign of a well-managed company with senior management comfortable with the concept of examining criticism with critical thinking skills instead of gut emotional responses.

      That makes me proud of a company I have invested a few bucks (damned few bucks) in.

      Google doesn’t do everything perfectly, I have my own gripes, but Google does an excellent job of self-correcting: Yet another sign of mental maturity.

    • The Golden Rule of Economics: Incentives Matter. The Golden Rule of Presenting: Brevity Matters.

      Over the years I’ve had my share of really spectacular presentation ‘crash & burn’ moments. During the recovery periods as I leaned heavily upon the healing powers of the fermented grape, I came to a realization of senior leaders similar to what I read here about one Mr. Jeff Bezos: these folks are really f’ing smart. In any presentation, by the time I’ve spoken the first word on a PowerPoint page, these people have not only grasped the entire subject but they’ve already found what’s missing and are either 100 thought-years ahead of me or pretty much already know how the presentation will conclude, or both. Like Steve, I expect I’ve missed something. My only fear is of when will it occur and how many times will it occur. But in the end, I realize I literally only have a few minutes of the senior exec’s precious time.

  • tags: web3.0

    • Since Hoffman famously holds that we’ve already surpassed an era defined by social sharing straight into an era defined by the implementation of the data generated by social sharing, why still call it Web 2.0 Summit?
    • In an earlier interview, conference host John Battelle described how Web 2.0 could contribute to Web 3.0 as such, “As an industry and as a society we need to have a conversation about what it means to have all of this information, created, applicable, leveragable [and] exploitable.”

       

      The most important conversation topic at Web 2.0 Summit? Ironically, Web 3.0.

  • Education need interactive videos very much, for example, for quiz.

    tags: Education tools

  • tags: stevejobs

    • Among Job’s inventions, “I actually I think his greatest work was Apple itself,” Gore said, echoing sentiments that have been voiced by numerous analysts and industry watchers. “He created an organization, and inspired it, that literally creates technology that people love.. and that’s going to continue.”
    • “[Jobs] used to talk about initially about how after Walt Disney died, the company always got in trouble about asking “what would Walt do in this situation.” And he made it very clear “I don’t want that,”” said Gore. “He made it clear to Tim Cook and everyone else “Don’t ask what Steve would have done. Follow your own voice.””
  • tags: Learning

    • The Edtech revolution that is currently underway will have made available a myriad of choices for both content organization and interactivity. The real power of this will be in sharing of data about student misconceptions between teachers around the world. A discerning teacher will be able to organize standards-based content around vetted, ranked, interactive audio, video, and text resources that can be organized into curricular units that allow students to pursue mastery cooperatively and individually. With shared data about student responses, teacher will be able to choose the best course of action in the moment, given what they learn from their students from instant feedback.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

