My daily readings 09/28/2011

  • tags: delicious

    • The site’s new front page is designed for easier browsing, featuring a collection of large thumbnails, giving the previously text-link heavy page a more appealing look. The redesign moves Delicious into the territory of services such as Squidoo, which allows you to easily create a hub of information on a specific topic.
    • Oh, those stacks–especially in the grid view–look a bit like Pinterest. Except perhaps even more usable. I joined Delicious in the midst of the switch-over but am still finding it the most lightweight, user-friendly way to save links.
    • Um, after watching the video my first reaction was, “My God, a lot of work to share a list of links.” Alternative is a simple public view folder in my Evernote account. KISS.
    • When you have something that works, why in $DEITY’s name will you go out on a rampage and rewrite it from scratch? You know, if people used the site, maybe it had something going for it…

      I never considered switching away from delicious before. But now that it is a different beast altogether, with most of what made it useful for me before (I couldn’t care less about “social” features), I just might.

    • Frankly, I dislike “promise”. You do not remove features from users without a significant reason, you work within the constrains of what you have and build upon that.

      The tag list isn’t even ordered alphabetically anymore, for $DEITY’s sake…

      How would users react in they opened Word one day and found out it was actually Notepad, just because Microsoft wanted to create a “beautiful thing” and rewrite Word from scratch…?

    • So I log in and the first obvious difference is that I can see exactly four bookmarks on the screen at once. And if I scroll I see that there are only 10 per page. Don’t you think that’s a bit sparse?

      I’m not sure what use case the new owners think most people are on the site for, but for me it’s to save bookmarks and quickly find them again. I used to have a nice tall list that I could scan down quickly.

    • Looking at other people’s bookmarks is one of the main ways I use Delicious: either by searching (I find it much better than google for certain things, eg. finding popular software) or using the Popular page to see what’s new (normally pretty weighted towards web-dev on Delicious, but you can browse tags for other topics).
    • As the cofounder of trunk.ly and a direct competitor to delicious, I think this new version is one step forward, two steps back.

      Social bookmarking is one of the few much under-appreciated services. It offers much longer life-time-value to its users. There are lots of data one can mine. Many needs to satisfy. Chad and Chen’s entry definitely revitalize this market. Their “bringing social bookmarking to consumers” is spot on. This is a huge step forward. Over time, I’m sure the service will become better as long as they keep improving it.

      Two steps back:

      1) The main way to get links into delicious is still via bookmarklet. Given the high ratio of people using facebook, twitter, why should I manually bookmark a link if I have already retweeted it? Or liked it in my little walled garden?

      Trunk.ly provides 10+ connectors into popular social networks. Setup once. Links will start coming in automatically.

      2) Lack of a solid social search. Playlist for the web is a great concept but will your interior “design” tag means the same to my software “design” tag? Tagging as a device to build taxonomy starts to collapse when people uses same tag for difference things. Quora solves this problem quite well by labouring out a taxonomy of its own.

      Trunk.ly provides a search interface so essentially you have your own google for your links as well as your friends.

      For example, want to search for stunning infrared photography images?

      This is what you get from trunk.ly: http://trunk.ly/?q=infrared+photography

      This is from delicious: http://delicious.com/search?p=infrared+photography

    • > Twitter now serves this purpose for a ton of people, which is lovely, but a carefully-chosen Delicious network had a signal-to-noise ratio that was pretty unbeatable.

      Moreover, searching for anything old on Twitter is pretty much impossible. Delicious was much better in that you could always search & recall that one bookmark.

    • It’s a complete rewrite, but I’m still surprised they missed so many basic features. It’s rather frustrating to use.

      * No iPhone version of the site anymore.

      * Links are bookmarked as soon as you click the bookmarklet, not when you click save on in the popup window.

      * No suggest-as-you-type tags when using the bookmarket.

      * Both http://delicious.com and http://www.delicious.com exist, and you can be signed in on one but not the other. There are also links on one that redirect to the other.

      * If you are logged out, clicking on the bookmarklet pulls up the site’s registration screen in a new window. This window does not have horizontal scrollbars and is not wide enough to see the login link.

      * For some reason there’s no hand cursor on mouse-over of links.

    • Like many others here, I switched to pinboard a while ago. And strangely enough, even though that is run by a single person, I trust it more to respond to users wishes and generally be updated. Don’t care about the social aspects, so the user base really doesn’t matter to me. I want my bookmarks managed, if somebody else has to share something, blogs and twitter are sufficient, I don’t need to bookmark-stalk someone…

      And is it just me or did their default bookmarklet add those silly stacks, but drop tag autocompletion?

    • I do use browser sync, but to be honest, most of what I have there is just some work-related, frequently used items and bookmarlets, i.e. mostly stuff in the bookmark bar.

      Pinboard/delicious has some vital advantages for me – first, it works across browsers, so whether I’m using Chrome or Firefox, I can still access them. Never mind bookmarking something from an iOS or Android device…

      Also, the UI for doing that is a lot better, tagging, search etc. Some stuff you bookmark is a simple “read later” or “read on another device” list, but I do it for lot of articles and sites that might come in convenient some vague time in the future.

    • The tagging is really nice for organizing things, and having the date you bookmarked it associated is nice as well. I know I’ll sometimes think, “What was that site I looked at last year that had that cool ____?” and it’s pretty easy to find if you can just scroll through by date bookmarked.
    • This new flavor could end up being the sweet spot between the Delicious we’ve come to know and the interesting but relatively niche TrailMeme (http://trailmeme.com/). I can see some interesting hacker focused stacks emerge that aggregate quality links around, say, getting started with a new technology or maybe fund raising.

      The challenge with “stacks” though, as with any list curation web app, is 1) maintaining the quality of content and 2) surfacing higher quality collections as you scale and become more and more inclusive. And these are hard problems to tackle without having humans sift through thousands of stacks to pick the diamonds in the rough (Visit http://www.imdb.com/lists/ to see what I mean).

    • The new Delicious is case in point why you should never write a codebase from the ground up.

      http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/fog0000000069.html

    • It’s unlikely that AVOS had a choice. Several months ago, the former product manager of Delicious wrote about a few options for its future (http://uniquehazards.tumblr.com/post/2377362882/we-can-save-…), and he included:

      > But ultimately the real challenge here will be the technology. During my time at Delicious we rebuilt the entire infrastructure to deeply leverage a number of internal Yahoo technologies. It’s all great stuff but not exactly easy to remove or replace.

    • It’s very good to see that delicious is getting improved again. I think that it’ll will be the replacement of search engines in couple of years. It’s chaotic enough to collect information from the web and strong enough to provide better ways of accessing information.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

