My daily readings 04/13/2011

    • If I’m a Dunkin’ Donuts zealot, for instance, I’m probably not going to change my behavior and go to a Starbucks just to save $1. Location-based deals reward decisions already made. If I’m already at Starbucks, why do they want to offer me a deal? It may reward behavior, but doesn’t incentivize it.

      Having to be on-location to get a deal limits the reach of a deal, and doesn’t drive foot traffic. I just got the world’s best Groupon (for a book lover like me): $10 off $20 at Barnes & Noble. This is going to drive me into a store. But I can’t find that deal on Facebook or Foursquare because I’m not anywhere near a store right now! The brilliance of Groupon is surfacing the deal before you’ve made a decision, and generally only costs the business money when it has product additional foot traffic to the store.

      • Why do people check in? Why should they?

        • Finding people near you, a.k.a. serendipity: When your friends happen to be at the same location, it’s like magic. Especially useful at conferences, this is check-ins at their best.
        • Points and the hoped-for rewards: Whether it is rewards on SCVNGR or deals on Foursquare, people hope to get a discount: a free appetizer, a dollar off coffee. These deals are in their very early stages on location-based services.
        • To remember things: In new cities or new venues, I’ll often check in (privately) just to remember the place I went. Marshall Kirkpatrick has discussed this use case as well.
        • Personal branding: While most people wouldn’t use this term, it is what’s going on. People are creating a personal online identity for themselves, showcasing who they are by telling everyone what they’re doing. (Less charitably: they’re bragging, and I’m just as guilty of it as most).
      • Serendipity people, Serendipity of content.  How to generate location based content?  Is discovering new people a major scenario?  What’s the best way to discovery new people around you? 
    • Remembering things holds promise of long-term value; a digital memory bank of places I’ve been could be really handy. It’s just not clear that most people really need it. Unless you spend all your time traveling and going new places, there’s just not that much to remember.
    • Support for Flock browsers will be discontinued as of April 26th, 2011. We would like to thank our loyal users around the world for their support, and we encourage the Flock community to migrate in the coming weeks to one of the recommended web browsers listed below.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

