My daily readings 11/18/2010

    • In response to a question from the audience about Twitter empowering people to publish and act as journalists, Williams — who founded Blogger and later sold it to Google — said that “lowering the barrier to publishing” has been something he has spent most of his career on, and this is because he believes that “the open exchange of information has a positive effect on the world — it’s not all positive, but net-net it is positive.”
    •   正是那次对话,让我决定帮助傅盛。这些年,我见过不少有能力的人,但是真正有决心和毅力的,真正有创业精神的,我看到的,只有傅盛一个。过去三年,我一直在做天使投资,敢拿20万创业的人只有傅盛。绝大部分人都是选择在哪家大公司打工,业余时间几个人搞个小项目,拿到投资了再出来。傅盛的决绝和执着深深打动了我。至于后来,有人总是说,傅盛是我从360挖出来的,在这里我澄清一下:在傅盛离开360之前,我还不认识他。
    •   为什么我们选择傅盛做新公司的领头人呢?因为傅盛是一个具备互联网精神的人。什么是互联网精神?我觉得最核心的有三条:

        第一条,极致。我的另外一个投资团队,在凌晨两点给我发了一个短信,说“我终于明白啥叫‘极致’了,极致就是把自己逼疯,把竞争对手逼死,这叫极致。”

        我们常常抱怨,我们做了一点功能,对手就复制了。那么我就想问,你能不能做一个产品对手完全就复制不了呢?iPhone到今天已经发布了3年零3个月,全球至今没有任何一个手机厂商的产品赶上了iPhone,去年我无比期待的诺基亚5800XM,只玩了15分钟,就丢到垃圾筒了。今年我又无比期待诺基亚的N8,刚上市,七千块,买了一部,30分钟,垃圾筒。

        第二条就是用户口碑。我们经常说“好的产品会说话”,光满足用户需求,这还不够,要超越,要引导。

        第三点,快。速度上是不是比竞争对手更快,是不是能更关注用户的反馈,小步快跑,快速迭代的开发方法,这都是互联网精神所特有的。

    • I have always been fickle: flitting between phases for more than 20 years; purchasing the most expensive thingamijig to pursue each new craft; being careful not to startle those close to me by using it more than once. Imagine my delight, then, to hear Ira Glass attest to the importance of giving things up:

      Not enough gets said about the importance of abandoning crap.”

    • Abandoning your dwindling hobby, business, relationship, blog, or other pursuit is tricky. Sometimes, though, giving up can be exactly the right thing to do. The thing to take-away from Glass and Godin is this: killing a failing project isn’t an act of destruction — it’s a powerful creative force:

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

