My daily readings 09/29/2010

  • tags: Website optimization

  • tags: Xmarks

    • The San Francisco-based company–which had been called Foxmarks initially–had been seed-funded by Kapor, the well-known tech entrepreneur, and also got an additional investment from First Round Capital.
    • Xmarks garnered another $5 million in funding from Redpoint Ventures in 2008,

      That year, it also hired Silicon Valley entrepreneur James Joaquin as CEO, whose job it was to carve out a business with Xmarks’ assets, including using its mass of data.

      Xmarks had certainly been growing its user base and bookmarked Web addresses strongly, via a browser widget that recorded bookmarking information.

  • tags: Product

    • I responded: we have the best team of engineers and designers imaginable. We will win because we are small and awesome. Microsoft throws 10x as many people at music players, phones, and computers. And they aren’t winning there. If team size always won, there wouldn’t be startups.
    • I asked this person directly: do you have an iPhone? Nope. Do you use a Mac or a PC? PC. There you go. You don’t get it. Until you use an iPhone, a Mac, drive a BMW or Audi, you don’t even realize how great the experience can be or how much it can drive the success of a product.
    • And they don’t measure products by what they do, but by how well they do them. You won’t find a matrix where Apple compares their product to a competitor by feature. They measure products by the experience.
  • tags: Startup

  • tags: freemium

    • I use MailChimp for free right now but I can’t wait until my list is big enough for me to start having to pay them. It’ll mean that I have enough subscribers to actually monetize the list. At that point, I’ll be more than happy to give them my credit card.

      This is in contrast with Evernote and Dropbox, both of which I use for free but neither of which I plan of paying for in the future. They work well enough for my needs, and if I grow out of them, I’ll probably just either cut back on my use or try to find another solution. Maybe that makes me a freeloader or cheapskate, but I imagine I’m not alone.

      So, at least in my case, Freemium works best for products that either directly or indirectly contribute to making money.

    • I’d argue that freemium works best when the “premium” part has value for the user. But, making money (i.e. directly contributing to revenue/profit) is just one way to have value. Saving time is another.

      So, I pay DropBox not because it helps me make money, but because it’s worth the savings in time and frustration trying to come up with an alternative.

      Many of the most popular freemium products have a price point that is low enough that large numbers of people can easily justify the price, if they actually use the product.

  • tags: Competitor

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

