My daily readings 06/28/2010

  • tags: no_tag

    • I don’t see this as effective advertising (though that is what gets you to buy it) as much as effective UX design. I never thought I needed a phone with anything but the ability to call, but now I can’t imagine not having an phone with internet, GPS, email, etc. That change wasn’t advertising, but the best design and form factor made at the time of its release.

      Advertising gets you into the store, but an innovative product creates the “need we never knew we had.”

  • tags: no_tag

    • I use iBooks and the Kindle app a lot. The interface they present is just better for reading books. I can also highlight a word and look it up or see a mention of a book and quickly check it out on a website, so there’s no loss of interactivity for me. I much prefer WeatherBug to websites because of response time. Maps is also indispensable, and I think more reliable than a Web App would be. Now Playing also has a superior interface. It’s basically a mashup of a Google Maps search for nearby theaters with Rotten Tomatoes ratings. Netflix is indispensable, of course.

      As for Web apps I use instead of local apps: FlightStats, Google Voice, and Google Reader. Google Voice is only available as a Web App and isn’t really a content app, but the other two I’ve chosen because I think they have a superior interface compared with the other options I tried.

      Most of the rest of the apps I use frequently are utilities, toys and games.

      These facts about my App use corroborate Fred’s observations. It’s about the UX! However you can achieve a superior UX, do it, but remember that you must beat the web. This is harder to do on the more comfortable screen of the iPad. On the iPhone, it’s easy, because the screen is cramped.

  • Content discovery¬†

    tags: RSS

    • Content discovery is a really exciting space, and I’m really excited to see how it will evolve. Twitter is another evolution of this I think, and I think way more people use twitter as content discovery or a news source as opposed to “what I am doing right now.” But following one of these loudmouths who retweets and links to articles suffers the same problems as RSS in that there is this tendency for one of these people to make a huge amount of tweets due to some event like a conference (or gets drunk one night) and then some stuff you don’t care about pushes a lot of the stuff you do care about off your page. I only follow 25 people on twitter and if I don’t check it for a day then I have 200+ tweets to dig through, so I have no idea how people with massive lists make their twitter work for them.
    • That’s interesting, because I’d say I value RSS for exactly the reasons you disclaimed. A dozen or two authors online are sufficiently good writers & so well in tune with my mind (or an area of my interest) that I am interested in almost anything they have to say. I use RSS in order to not miss their material. Without RSS, I would have to visit a ton of bookmarks every few days in order to scan for new posts.

      Like you indicated, I don’t see any value to a site like HN or Reddit having an RSS feed. The main page is the RSS feed. For me, RSS feeds excel at keeping me up to date with authors that only post every few days, or every few weeks. A couple dozen carefully chosen feeds gives me tremendous pleasure in the form of a few great posts a day. I’ve pretty much used RSS like this for five years, occasionally rotating in and out new blogs and authors.

    • Personally I use GReader a lot to source content and interesting ideas.
      Typically I will instantly subscribe to rss to a blog/etc when I come across an article I like from another aggregate source (HN/etc). As I see more of the blog, and get a feel for it’s content, I may unsubscribe from it the very next day, depending on the drivel or quality of content it spews forth. How often a blog updates has no impact, only the quality and uniqueness of the ideas presented. (I have very little tolerance for another me too fluff article about the ipad, for example.)
    • I really don’t see a point to RSS. I use it to subscribe to a particular forums category, but that’s it. If I want to get a persons blog post, I add them to my ‘Tracking’ list on twitter.

      Most people don’t write consistently good stuff. And I dislike seeing “50 unread items” in my google reader – it seems as if I am obliged to read them, when most will be bad. Any really good post is either going to show up on hacker news, on reddit, on delicious.com/popular or on my twitter tracking list. If it does not show up there, then I probably don’t need to read it.

      Twitter pre-filters my posts, RSS does not. That’s why I use rss.

  • tags: no_tag

    • products. If we have success in a market, we’re
      not going to put all of our resources into raising our market
      share — we’re going to polish our product
    • of a Reasearch
      & Development lab with the practical, results-oriented
      approach of a software development company. The result is a
      fun, challenging en
    • Our current focus is on mobile applications for the iPad,
      iPhone, and iPod Touch. We feel that the excitement around
      these products is indicative of this market’s potential:
      mobile computing is already having a significant impact, and
      will soon become ubiquitous. The iPhone platform is a pioneer
      in this area, combining for the first time serious computing
      power, a dynamic and flexible user interface, and powerful
      APIs to support creative development of amazing
      applications. We see great potential in this device for
      changing how we interact with our information and the world
      around us, and our goal is to find new ways to bring that
      potential to you.
  • tags: iPad, APP

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

