My daily readings 03/16/2010

  • tags: no_tag

    • 10. Comments that explain the “how” but not the “why”

      Introductory-level programming courses teach students to comment early and comment often. The idea is that it’s better to have too many comments than to have too few. Unfortunately, many programmers seem to take this as a personal challenge to comment every single line of code. This is why you will often see something like this code snippit taken from Jeff Atwood’s post on Coding Without Comments:

  • tags: no_tag

    • I have had severe allergies all of my life. As a child I had hay fever so bad that my eyes would swell shut and mucus would stream from my nose. I would lie in a darkened room with a cold damp flannel over my face to quell the itching, almost inebriate from antihistamines. Spring was pure misery.

      Later I smoked cigarettes for seven years when I w

  • tags: no_tag

    • I really wanted to like Google Wave. But after several months of attempting to use it in a variety of ways, I’ve come to the conclusion that the current incarnation of Google Wave is too fundamentally flawed to be useful. That said, Google has made it very clear that Google Wave is still in preview release, so I hold out hope that Google will radically revamp the service. I think Google is aware of these issues, since a Feedback survey link just appeared in Google Wave itself, and many of the questions seem to acknowledge that users are wildly unhappy.

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

Leave a Reply

